Kelly and Bell lead Queen's Birthday Honours

The top civil servant at the Department for Transport (DfT) heads the list of transport figures recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Bernadette Kelly (top), permanent secretary at the DfT, has been made a Dame Commander of the Order of the Bath for services to Government, while Nicola Bell (bottom), south east regional director at National Highways and a longstanding Highways Awards judge, has been made a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) for services to transport and to the COVID-19 response.

Among those made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) is Keith Williams, chair of the Williams Rail Review, which has become for the blueprint for reform of the rail industry.

Also awarded the CBE is Alun Griffiths OBE, founder of the civil engineering firm now owned by Tarmac, for services to the construction industry and to the community in Wales.

London and Continental Railways (LCR) chair Nicholas Markham is also made a CBE for services to the economy and to government. LCR Ltd is wholly owned by the DfT and specialises in the management, development and disposal of property assets within a railway context and, in particular, property assets associated with major infrastructure projects.

New Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) include Dyan Crowther, chief executive officer of HS1 Ltd, and Christian Irwin, industry programme director at Network Rail, both for services to the rail industry.

The maritime industry is also recognised, with Andrew Moll, chief inspector at the Marine Accident investigation branch and Theocharis (Harry) Theochari chair emeritus at Maritime UK both being awarded the OBE.

The RNLI’s Guy Addington is made an MBE, as is Captain Michael Morris, chairman of the UK Maritime Pilots Association.

Others awarded the MBE include Lydia Austen, head of border industry engagement and programme delivery at the DfT, for services to transport during Covid-1.

Barry Boffy, head of inclusion and diversity at British Transport Police BTP), was made an MBE for services to policing, while Keith Jarrett, a member of police staff at BTP, received the same award for services to policing and to diversity.

Other recipients of the MBE include Michael Harvey, fleet manager at Abellio London Bus; Philip O'Neill, chief operating officer at Northern Ireland’s Translink and Jane Jones head of public affairs at Great Western Railway (GWR).

New recipients of the British Empire Medal (BEM) include workers at rail and bus firms. A trio of all of GWR staff - Matthew Cambourne, a train planner, Rebekah Hartley a former manager of Project Phoenix, and Charlotte Murray deputy head of security and resilience - all received the award.

Other BEM recipients include Victoria Snell, customer relations manager at Transpennine Express, and Joseph Somers, a revenue inspector for Stagecoach East.

Two Network Rail workers have been awarded the BEM - William Cooke, head of workforce health, safety and environment, and Lydia Fairman, lead capability and development manager.

Christine Dadd-Bytyci, NATS and Crossrail International Shareholder Policy Lead at the DfT also received the medal.

Supported By